School Libraries Win Awards, Host Author Festival

May 9, 2015 – The Ohio Educational Library Media Association has named Beachwood Schools as the recipient of its 2015 Outstanding School Library District Award, which recognizes an exceptional district library program. Honorees demonstrate a district culture that advocates for the integral role of the school library program in student achievement at the building and district level.

Beachwood Schools media specialists are Jennifer Flaherty, Beachwood High School; Julie Ungier, Beachwood Middle School; Angela Maxwell, Hilltop Elemenrary School; and Shahnyn Moody-Benedict, Bryden Elementary School. Mrs. Maxwell was the recipient of OELMA's Information Technology Innovation Award, which recognizes school librarians who design, develop, and implement innovative uses of technology in instruction. This award spotlights the importance of emerging technologies in supporting student learning.

In April, Beachwood students of all ages enjoyed an afternoon of workshops, activities, and more with popular authors Neal Shusterman, Angela Johnson, Marc Brown, Shelley Pearsall, Lindsay Ward (pictured right), and John David Anderson. The event was planned by Beachwood School’s media specialists/librarians in conjunction with the Beachwood branch of the Cuyahoga County Public Library. Click here to view photos from this event.

Print This Article